Check out Jim’s follow-up post Maps improve after Moberly’s survey of the Shuswap (April 18 2014) over at shuswappassion.ca.
The fascinating 1915 Surveyor General’s map, which uses shading to show hills and mountains, provides a look at the Shuswap before most roads and bridges were built and when trails were still in use. There were only two wagon roads into Salmon Arm, one along the Salmon River and one from near Grindrod. And some routes that are only gravel roads today, were main thoroughfares, such as the Skimiken Road and the road from Falkland through Paxton Valley to Pritchard. One mystery is what happened to the well-marked “Shoot-non-hoot-looh Indian Village” located just east of the mouth of the Shuswap River on Mara Lake. In 1915, the road heading north from Grindrod ended there.