Way Too Long Away !

I can’t believe that it’s actually been over a month since my last postings. It’s not that I haven’t thought about topics to post but there’ve been other priorities.

Family matters have taken up a big part of the last three months really. My father passed away 10 days ago after a prolonged battle with a progressive lung disease. His final round of hospitalization and passing has been the real focus these past dozen weeks.

Also, I’ve really had to ponder the nature of my contributions to the blog. As I’ve mentioned before, it’s tricky separating punditry from my new role – and it’s legal and operational requirements – as a councillor on Salmon Arm’s city council. That dilemma in itself has limited my posting as well.

I’m headed to Kamloops tomorrow for the annual SILGA (Southern Interior Local Government Association) conference. SILGA is comprised of elected officials from cities, towns, villages, districts and regional districts in South Central British Columbia.

The first workshop I’m attending is on the “Use of Social Media by Elected Members: Managing Risks“. Ideally, there’ll be some takeaways to help me further ponder things.

I’ll also be reporting back on other conference workshops and the resolutions that will be discussed and voted on. Stay tuned!

Author: Tim Lavery

Aim High Salmon Arm It matters

1 thought on “Way Too Long Away !”

  1. Thanks Tim for sharing the difficult news. We are never ready for the loss of a parent. I know his courage and commitment in his life helps to inform the decisions you make and the contribution you continue to make to our community. My sincere condolences to you and your family.

Your thoughts?

